Hot Soup Because “Baheb akol shi (I would like to eat something).”

Feb. 2 – Tonight I made Avgolemono Soup. It is one of our favorites, and just happens to be Greek. As I was carefully incorporating the eggs and lemon juice into the hot broth, I anticipated the Greek food I will be able to enjoy at the end of long days in Molyvos. Unlike the others arriving there from across the sea, I will have a warm bed to sleep in and the funds to eat hot meals at local cafes. And, as I watched the swirling soup, trying to keep the beaten eggs smooth as they joined the lamb broth, I couldn’t help but think about the foreign refugees streaming onto the Greek roadways and from there to the ferries as they move northward trying to integrate into the larger masses of European citizens.

My imagination runs wild as I consider what I have seen in photos and videos about conditions on Lesbos where locals try to continue some semblance of a normal life while having such an influx of foreigners arriving daily. The best overview I have seen to date was put out by the Washington Post and is called “The Waypoint.” Note the scene with the staff/volunteer burning trash in the Moria camp on Southern Lesbos; when I voiced nervousness about being able to handle my upcoming duties as a volunteer, Sam kindly pointed out the fact that I am an expert at managing burn piles so I will certainly be able to help out in that department.

 

Leave a comment